A dead man set free…

Meet Sambany. A man who has spent the last 19 years of his life watching (and feeling) his tumor grow before his eyes with the inability to do anything about it. No access to healthcare, no money for transportation to the capital city, no hope of stopping the rampant growth that was slowly taking over his face. Sambany said he stopped praying because of his tumor, because he was never getting relief from its torture.

“One year ago, I was waiting for the time, ‘When, God, are you going to take me?’ I was waiting to die. I could not do anything. Every day, I was just waiting to die.”

Photo Credit Ruben PlompAfter hearing word from a friend that there was a ship that offered free surgeries in the port town of Tamatave, Sambany and his 20-year-old grandson left their small town on foot and walked for 3 days until they came to a town with a paved road where they could catch a bus that would take them to Tamatave. They arrived at the HOPE center on January 21st and the screening team was called to come see him. This was the biggest tumor they’d ever seen. He was quickly sent to the ship for a CT scan and labs.

MGB150121_SAMBANY_PAT16203_JF0010_LOThe admissions team received an urgent call from the lab to notify them that Sambany’s hemoglobin (oxygen carrying portion of red blood cells) was a low 3.6 (normal is 12-16). The fact that this man was still even standing was amazing, but even more so that he had just walked for 3 days with a hemoglobin that low was astounding. We admitted him to our ward and immediately started his first blood transfusion. He went on to receive 3 units of blood that night. In the days that followed, his hemoglobin slowly came up, but his other tests results were more and more discouraging. His other organs showed to be functioning poorly and there was doubt that surgery could be done for him. The risk was too high. There were many discussions between the surgeons and anesthesiologists, as well as the review board on the ship to determine how to proceed with his treatment, or IF we could proceed.

After nearly two weeks on the ship, the decision was made; by our surgeons and by Sambany that surgery would proceed. Sambany knew the risks of surgery and this was his response..

“I know without surgery I will die. I know I might die in surgery, but I already feel dead inside from the way I’m treated. I choose to have surgery.”

The whole crew rallied behind Sambany’s decision. This note went up on the ward door the day before his operation.

10947217_10155196296680088_7156637356532782214_n

It was suspected that Sambany would lose a lot of blood during his surgery. On the Africa Mercy, crew are the blood bank,  so the lab recruited all crew with A+ blood, who were able, to donate in preparation for his surgery.

On February 3rd, Sambany’s life changed. His operation took 12 hours (nearly twice as long as they had planned). He lost 5 liters of blood, nearly his entire circulating blood volume in the operating room and received 11 units of blood during surgery. The tumor that was removed from his face weighed 16.5lbs… He would never again be the same.

Photo Credit Katie KeeganHe was brought to the ICU around midnight that night where my roommate Anna cared and prayed over him for the next 8 hours. He remained intubated for less than 12 hours, and the next morning, he was extubated and began breathing on his own. We were all in awe of how his body was tolerating the severe trauma that it had just been through.

When Sambany was awake, he was given a mirror to look at himself for the first time and everyone waiting anxiously to see his response..

MGB150204_SAMBANY_PAT16203_MARTA_CHASE_JOSH_CALLOW_KK0001_LO

This is what he told us.

 “When I have recovered, I want to repay you (Mercy Ships), because I am very happy, because I am saved. God gave to take out my big tumour. God helped me to become like this. God saved me.”

Photo Credit Katie Keegan

The next few days out of ICU were tough on Sambany. His body had been through a very traumatic event. He was very disoriented and confused. Yet again, the crew continued to pray for his physical healing as well as the healing of his mind. Within that week Sambany returned to his sweet self. He is completely oriented and understands where he is and what happened. When he’s asked where he is he says “I’m floating on the sea!” He couldnt’t be happier! Many times throughout my shifts I’ve looked over to his bed and see him staring at his face in the mirror, and touching the bandage where his tumor used to be. I like to pull up a stool to his bed and squeeze his hand. To look in his eyes and see the hope that has replaced the sorrow that used to fill them. I like to sit and play dominoes with his grandson Flav, who has gone through an emotional roller coaster himself. I like to remind them that Jesus loves them, and that the Lord healed him.

In total, Sambany recieved 17 units of blood from more-than-willing crew members from all different departments on-board. He got to meet most of them:)

Photo Credit Katie Keegan - Sambany (PAT16203) meets many of his blood donors!

This man is a miracle..He is loved by a crew of 300 people on board who prayed countless prayers, gave liters of blood, and worked long-tiring hours to change his life. But more than that, he is loved by a God who never overlooked him. By a God who saw past his tumor to his breaking heart. To a man in need of a savior. We pray now for Sambany’s spirit. That he would know where his healing comes from. That he would leave this place to serve the God who gave him new life.

10931216_750703631691713_1275586339924207141_n

I think the lyrics to All Sons and Daughters’ Song “I am set Free” speak of this man’s journey.

You broke my chains, of sin and shame and you covered me with grace.
You mend my life, with your holy fire and you cover me with grace.
You are the hand that reaches out to save.

 

Sambany is no longer a dead man. He has been given new life.

3 thoughts on “A dead man set free…

Leave a comment