Lucas has(had!) a Lipoma

Lucas was my favorite from the first day (If I’m allowed to admit that). I met him and his dad outside the screening center in town as they stood in line at our very first day seeing patients in Madagascar. It was hot outside, and Lucas’s mom and dad took turns standing across the street holding him in the shade, while the other one stood in line to keep their spot. I  couldn’t help but notice the large dark patches of skin that covered parts of his arms and legs. I smiled at his dad as he held Lucas and discretely tried to pull his shorts a little longer to cover the growths on his legs.

And then I noticed the very large tumor growing on his back, hidden beneath his yellow shirt.

Photo Credit Ruben Plomp

With a translator I asked if I could hold Lucas. His father looked surprised at first, that I’d want to hold his disfigured child, but he didn’t know how badly my heart wanted to hold this little boy that had captured my heart. Lucas came right to me. I awkwardly held him, not sure if his back was painful where the tumor grew. He didn’t smile, but he didn’t cry either. That was enough for me.

I rejoiced with them when, several hours later, they made it to the front of the line and were given an appointment card!

The next time I saw Lucas was on the ward the first week of December. He was admitted for a CT scan. Getting his chart ready for admission, I noticed a letter from the plastic surgeon tucked into the folder sleeve. In short, it said that surgery was likely not possible due to the size and location of the tumor because it was suspected that there was some spinal cord involvement. My heart about broke. The CT scan that he would have that day would hold the information that would be used for the decision. That afternoon I had to send  Lucas and his dad home, unsure if I would ever see them again. I couldn’t fight the glaze of tears that welled up in my eyes as I told him that he would get a call in the next couple of the weeks with the CT results. I told him I would be praying for him; that we would be able to help him.

I kissed the side of Lucas’s face and said goodbye.

And then I prayed…desperately.. for the next month. Begging the Lord that we could help this family. That he would comfort them as they would wait day after day for a phone call that would either break their hearts, or give them the hope that they had longed for.

Photo Credit Ruben PlompOn Monday, more than a month later, my friend Tammy found me and told me that Lucas was on the ward and that he was admitted for surgery; that it was just a lipoma that had no involvement with the spinal cord. Again, the tears wouldn’t stay away. What a good God we serve!

Lucas had surgery that day. I went to visit him on the ward but he was already in the operating room when I got there. I peeked around the corner and saw his dad’s face light up at the recognition. I threw my arms up and told him how excited I was to see him! I had a translator come help and I told his dad how I had been praying for the past several weeks that I would see them again and that we would be able to do surgery. I couldn’t hide the excitement. His joy was contagious as he told me ,“We are so thankful that God sent you to Tamatave!”

And I am so thankful that God sent us to Tamatave. Where every day at work I look into my patients’ eyes and wonder why I would ever want to be anywhere else.

Lucas is a few days out from surgery and the last time I saw him he was fighting over Jenga pieces with another patient. I’d say he’s doing well..

Are you willing to ask God boldly for things? To pray desperately? This is what I’ve been challenged with at the start of this new year. To pray about the things He’s put on my heart. To ask for healing in the lives of my patients. To ask for direction in my life. To ask that He deepen my walk with Him. To expect that He hears my heart and that He is faithful. God is big enough.

“Ask and it will be given to you..how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!” -Matthew 7:7,11

 

3 thoughts on “Lucas has(had!) a Lipoma

  1. What a rush to not only be able to watch a familys’ desperation turn into joy, but to be able to be part of the effort that made it happen. What a joy for us to know you’re happy…and especially, that what makes you happy is serving those who desperately need it. I especially love that you surprised the father by wanting to hold his child. How different the love of God looks to a world chained by heartbreak! That father is going to remember that simple act the rest of his life. “Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people…” -Galatians 6:10. Good on ya, girl!

  2. Beautiful story, Heather! God bless you, again! And a beautiful exchange between you & your Dad, too … a wonderful bonus! ❤

Leave a comment